Silverlight


I have just recently started developing silverlight applications for the Windows Phone 7 device. Before Silverlight, my main experience has been database, web, and desktop development using WinForms, and WebForms. My first experience of Silverlight has been rather challenging, but very interesting and fun. Programming user interfaces using Silverlight is rewarding and very similar to HTML, CSS, and JavaScript.

HTML forms the structure of the web page, CSS makes it look nice, and JavaScript makes it interactive. With Silverlight, XAML performs the equivilent role of HTML and CSS, and VB.NET or C# performs the same role as the JavaScript.

Within a month of been introduced to Silverlight, I already have two business applications in development and making good progress. According to Microsoft, the best way to get Windows Phone 7 to communicate with a remote database is using WCF Services. As I have learnt quite a few lessons along the way, I will be sharing these lessons on this blog as and when I find the time. To learn more about Silverlight from Microsoft visit the The Official Microsoft Silverlight Site.

